Deconstructing Kate: The Summer Slim Down

I generally carry a stuffed planner in anticipation of it being able to handle or answer anything that I need at a moment’s notice. Currently, I’m using my Kate Spade Wellesley Zip planner in Deep Pink in personal size. In it’s current state, I can zip it with no problem. However, truth be told, it is the heaviest item in my bag.

Before

Before

 

 

Before

Before

 

I have pocket size planners (Coach and Filofax) however, I’m not interested in switching to a pocket at this time (maybe later). I need my personal that is already set up with useable inserts, dividers, etc. to work for me without any additional expense. I needed to make it lighter and easier to carry.  I do not want to lug around a heavy bag all summer long and I decided to deconstruct and slim down what I carry in my personal Kate Spade zip planner.

I first emptied the contents of my binder. Starting over with a set-up is easiest this way because you are really forced to evaluate what’s necessary to carry with you and what can stay in a home binder (or storage).

Kate: Deconstructed

Kate: Deconstructed

 

Emptied and ready for a change

Emptied and ready for a change

I then sketched out what I thought were the most important “everyday carry” sections and items that I needed.

 

I also decided what was not needed – what I did not need to carry with me most of the time. Some of these items are note cards, post-its/sticky notes/flags, a plastic divider pocket (a second one), and notes that can be stored away at home.

Didn't make the cut

Didn’t make the cut

 

I then started to rebuild with items that I think I need to have with me on a regular basis. For the most part, I stuck with the plan sketched out on the above sticky note (with the exception of the hot pink journal, which is my food journal and I decided that I’d like to keep that with me throughout the day).

So now my planner is lighter to carry and streamlined. I have five sections:

  • Franklin Covey Her Point of View monthly and weekly pages for May and June; and the Kate Spade monthly and weekly inserts for July – September (I use a note page for future planning for the rest of the year);
  • To-do section, which contains my master task list and a work board;
  • Notes section with note paper cut down from a Target Dollar Spot list pad, and some lined loose leaf paper from Office Depot;
  • Exercise/wellness section, which includes a weight loss tracker, body measurements, and other trackers and lists; and
  • Contacts in case of an emergency.

I also have the mini-food journal and a Moleskine expense tracker tucked in the back secretarial pocket. It’s the small blue journal shown above and contains grid paper – perfect for expense tracking!

Food Journal

Food Journal

Notes

Notes

 

Notes 2

Notes 2

 

Exercise/Wellness Section

Exercise/Wellness Section

 

The summer slim down just in time!

After

After

 

K.Y.S.S.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Deconstructing Kate: The Summer Slim Down

  1. I don’t usually like the zip planners, but this one is lovely, especially with the slim down. I can see why it would be a lot easier for tossing arouind during the summer.

Leave a Reply

