My Prayer Journal

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

I started a prayer journal several months ago. I wanted to pursue a closer relationship with God and increase my spiritual life to include more prayer, reading, and studying. It brings me comfort, inspires me, and allows me to see and reflect upon my life’s path as I move closer to Him.

I keep a prayer journal and a spiritual binder. The focus of my prayer journal is to record my prayers so that I can meditate on them later. I write them in a very conversational way and when I believe an answer to a prayer has been given, whether the answer is ‘yes’ or ‘no’, I write about it, and mark it with a heart. That signifies that no matter what the response, I know that it is for my good.

Writing brings me a certain level of peace because I can record my prayers, get out on paper the things that are on my mind, those things for which I am grateful and prayers for others – all while increasing my faith in what God has planned for my life.

Here are a couple of pictures of the spiral journal I use for my prayer journal. It is a Piccadilly book from Barnes & Noble. I think it’s beautiful. It contains over 200 pages and measures 8½ x 11. I first set it up using an index to record topics, so that I can find them a little easier. I record the time and day that I write. I open my prayer with praise and thanksgiving and close acknowledging Jesus Christ. If I fail to leave space to write about the response, I simply write in the margins with a contrasting color. I also keep some of my favorite bible verses in my journal like the one above.

Piccadilly Journal

Piccadilly Journal

A peek at my pages

A peek at my pages

I don’t decorate but I use a little washi tape to adhere ephemera as I like.

There are some really good videos on YouTube about prayer journals and spiritual binders. Some of the things I learned in setting up my prayer journal, I learned from YouTuber Quelynn, Inc. If you’re interested in starting a prayer journal, check her out.

Like with most things, keeping a journal is very personal. Make it your own! 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

